The Festival

EDITORIAL

The Ancient Future Festival is the latest creation of EPISODE agency, which is also behind Bacchanale and Boombox projects. Emerging from a desire to create something new on the scene, Ancient Future is a multidisciplinary festival combining musical disciplines, visual arts, and circus arts. The festival is meant to be a way of assessing tomorrow’s society through the creation of a utopian space, on the border between the values of the past and our future desires. It is an eco-responsible festival, open to all and held at the Quai de l’Horloge, in the Old Port of Montreal.

Pleasant discoveries!

 

 

THE TIME OF PYRAMIDS

With the bubbling of downtown on one side and the flow of the St. Lawrence on the other, Quai de l’Horloge seems to have fallen asleep at the rate of the frenzied ticking of the metropolis. But the needle suddenly stops. Montreal trembles. The music rumbles. A pyramid emerges between the trees and a utopian city appears.

Guided by a mysterious character, a parade begins. Thousands of urban souls, attracted by the sounds that escape the pyramid, converging on the riverbanks to celebrate a collective and timeless escape. Ancient Future is a paradox between nature and a setting where past and future confront each other. Landmarks thus deconstructed, participants will engage in a hedonistic experience tinted with electronic music, visual arts, and extravagant performances.

Will you be part of the trip?

A MULTIDISCIPLINARY FESTIVAL

The festival will present a creative and cross-disciplinary program of artists. For the regulars of previous years, there is no doubt this is a trademark of the festival. You will be immersed in the Ancient Future universe thanks to the vibrant performances and discoveries of circus acts, digital arts, visual arts, performing arts and dance. They will create the boundaries of a universe of collective escape and lay the foundation for the sensory and auditory experience of the festival.

Stay tuned.

 

 

A CONSCIOUS FESTIVAL

Ancient Future is a festival conscious of minimizing its impact on the environment. This is why an eco-responsible system is put in place from the conception to the dismantling of the festival. In order to limit our carbon footprint, all of our suppliers are from Quebec and have been chosen to limit travel-related shipments. Additionally, we strongly encourage festival-goers to use public transportation instead of cars — especially in the Old Port, it’s cheaper and it’s greener! In order to limit waste, some of the furniture from previous editions will also be reused for this new edition. Selective sorting bins (composting, recycling, waste) will be present on the entire site, as well as reusable eco-cups with a refundable deposit will be distributed at the purchase of each beverage. Finally, the Ancient Future festival draws all its energy sources from a 100% hydroelectric production (no generators are allowed on the site).

Just like us, be aware of the imprint you leave … “LEAVE NO TRACE!”

Le Festival

EDITO

Le festival Ancient Future est le dernier né de l’agence EPISODE, à l’origine des projets Bacchanale et Boombox. Venu d’un désir de créer quelque chose de nouveau sur la scène, Ancient Future est un festival multidisciplinaire alliant musique, arts visuels et arts du cirque. Le festival se veut être une manière de réfléchir à notre société de demain via la création d’un espace utopique, à la frontière entre les valeurs du passé et notre futur désirable. Il s’agit d’un festival éco-responsable, ouvert à tous et qui a lieu au niveau du Quai de l’horloge, dans le vieux-port de Montréal.

Bonne découverte !

 

 

LE TEMPS DES PYRAMIDES

Avec l’effervescence du centre-ville d’un côté et le flot du Saint-Laurent de l’autre, le Quai de l’Horloge semble s’être endormi au rythme du tic-tac effréné de la métropole. Mais soudainement l’aiguille s’arrête. Montréal tremble. La musique gronde, une pyramide se dessine entre les arbres et une cité utopique émerge.

Guidée par un personnage mystérieux, une parade s’entame. Des milliers d’âmes urbaines, attirées par les sonorités qui s’échappent de cette pyramide, convergent vers les abords du fleuve pour célébrer une évasion collective et intemporelle. Ancient Future se veut être un paradoxe entre la nature et le bâti où se confrontent le passé et le futur. Les repères ainsi déconstruits, les participants s’engagent dans une expérience hédoniste teintée par les musiques électroniques, les arts visuels et les performances extravagantes.

Ferez-vous partie du voyage ?

UN FESTIVAL MULTIDISCIPLINAIRE

Le festival présentera une programmation créative et transversale d’artistes issus de différentes disciplines. Pour les habitués des années précédentes, cela ne fait aucun doute, c’est une des marques de fabrique du festival. Vous plongerez dans l’univers Ancient Future grâce aux performances vibrantes et innovantes du cirque, d’arts numériques, d’arts visuels, d’arts performatifs et de danse. Elles tisseront les frontières d’un univers d’évasion collective et poseront les bases de l’expérience du festival, sensorielle et auditive.

Prenez garde.

UN FESTIVAL CONSCIENT

Ancient Future est un festival et soucieux de limiter au maximum son impact sur l’environnement. C’est pourquoi un système éco-responsable est mis en place de la conception au démontage du festival. Dans le but de limiter notre empreinte carbone, tous nos fournisseurs sont québécois, et ont été choisis pour limiter les déplacements liés aux livraisons. De plus, nous incitons fortement les festivaliers à utiliser les transports en commun plutôt que la voiture. Particulièrement au Vieux Port, c’est moins cher, et c’est mieux ! Afin de limiter les déchets, une partie du mobilier des précédentes éditions sera également réutilisé pour cette nouvelle édition. Des poubelles de tri sélectif (composte, recyclage, déchets) seront présentes sur la totalité du site ainsi que des verres éco-cups consignés seront distribuées pour chaque achat de breuvage. Enfin, le festival Ancient Future tire l’entièreté de ses sources d’énergie d’une production 100% hydroélectrique. Aucune génératrice n’est autorisée sur le site.

Au même titre que nous, soyez conscient de l’empreinte que vous laissez… “LEAVE NO TRACE” !